The most important thing that is to be considered is that the Shenandoah Virginia marijuana laws are changing speedily. There are many states including Virginia which is allowing the use of marijuana because this special herb is used in many medicines. The laws about marijuana in this state are not recognized for the medical use. If any person in this state has a possession of about 2 ounces of marijuana then he can be held in jail for 30 days. The government can fine him for about USD 500. If any person will be caught with 5 pounds of Marijuana then he can be in prison for about 30 years and more fine will be incurred on him as per the state laws.
Federal Marijuana Laws in Shenandoah Virginia
Although they are many states in the US which are allowing the medical and the recreational use of marijuana however in Virginia it is illegal to have it. The Shenandoah Virginia marijuana Laws prohibits the possession of this herb no matter what is the amount. For first assurance, the person has to be in jail for the period of about one year and the state will fine him that will be about USD 1000.
If there is second possession then the imprisonment will be for 15 days along with 2 years in jail and a fine of USD 2500 will be charged. For 3rd and subsequent offense, the person will be held in jail for 90 days to maximum 3 years of imprisonment and the fine will be USD 5000.
Always remember that the cultivation and sale of marijuana in the state have higher punishments and fines under the law and for first possession the person can be held in jail for 5 years. If he or she has been caught with the large amount then the imprisonment can be for the whole life and the fine can be about 1 million USD.
The Possession and Selling Laws in Marijuana
It is a crime to possess any amount of marijuana in Virginia and the first possession can result in jail for the period of 30 days with a fine of USD 500. The sale of this herb in this state is a class 1 crime; however, giving it is not a serious offense as compared to selling it. It will be a class 5 felony if the sale of this herb is about 5 lbs and the person can be sentenced to jail for 5 to 30 years. The penalties are much more if the selling is held within 1000 yards of a school. If the marijuana is given to someone for free then it is a class 1 crime.
Getting the Case Review
If any of your loved ones is charged with this crime in Shenandoah, how the criminal process will proceed and the maximum penalty that can be faced. The good news is that you can also get the best attorney after visiting this site that can help you a lot.