Virginia VA is a state that shows absolutely no tolerance towards driving under influence (DUI) and there are essential DUI penalties in VA that varies is terms of their severity subject to the age of driver, blood alcohol content (BAC) level and if the driver has been previously convicted for DUI or not.
DUI Penalties in VA for Less Than 21 Years Olds
The BAC level for conviction of an individual who is less than 21 years old is .02. The DUI penalties in VA for such individuals include suspension of their driving license for 12 months, which would be above the administrative license suspension by the officer at the time of arrest. Further DUI penalties in VA for less than 21 years olds include a minimum fine of $ 500 or minimum 50 hours of community service, admission in alcohol safety action program and restricted driving license subject to installation of ignition interlock.
DUI Penalties in VA for 21 Years and Older
DUI penalties in VA for 21 years and older differs subject to the fact that how many times the person has been convicted for DUI, how longer it has been since the person has been previously convicted for the same and the level of BAC.
DUI penalties in VA for a first time offender include a fine of minimum $ 250, which could be increased to $ 1000 if a minor is present in the vehicle. For the second offense of DUI the fine could range from $ 500 to $ 1000. For the third conviction, the minimum fine is $ 1000.
For a first time offender, an imprisonment of minimum five days is subject to the presence of minor in the vehicle or BAC level is above .15 and an imprisonment of 10 days if BAC level is above 0.20. For second and third offense within five years, the DUI penalties in VA include an imprisonment of minimum 20 days to maximum 12 months and 6 months respectively. Otherwise the sentence of imprisonment would be slightly lenient ranging from a period of 10 days to 30 days maximum for second offense and 90 days for third offense. However, additional five days would be added in the penalty subject to the presence of minor in the vehicle or BAC level is above 0.15.
The license suspension laws in Virginia are strict as compared to other states. The DUI penalties in VA for first offense includes an essential license suspension for a period of one year. The second time offense would be penalized by a license suspension of three years and the conviction for the third time for DUI would call for the license suspension for an unspecified period.
Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
For the first time offender, the DUI penalties in VA include an ignition interlock device (IID) if BAC level is 0.15 or above while for second time offender IID would be required upon reinstatement of the license. While for the third offense, license would be suspended for an unspecified time period however an individual could file the petition for reinstatement after five years, which would be obligated with an IID.