The Need to file a Restraining Order against Someone

In Virginia, the protective orders are also known as the restraining order. This is the legal order issued for the protection of an alleged party. These restraining orders are usually issued during divorce cases, child custody cases and contempt cases. The family (mother or child/father or child) or victim( ex-wife, ex-husband, ex-boyfriend, ex-girlfriend, stepfather, stepmother) may be under the threat, force or violence, leading to any kind of physical harm, sexual attack, a life threat or other damage.

The need to obtain a Restraining order?

The petitioner needs the order for safety of him/her and his/her family from the “abuse,” committed by the respondent to avoid any act of violence, threat or force that results in bodily damage or a threat to death, sexual assault, or includes such act, but is not limited to, any forceful detention, criminal sexual assault, stalking or involve a criminal offense which results in bodily injury, death threat, sexual assault or bodily injury.

The Decision for seeking a Restraining order:

A petitioner can file a restraining order against someone if he finds enough grounds of recent, past or likelihood harmful act in the form of physical injury, sexual assault or damage to property. The petitioner needs to demonstrate the appropriate need to fill out the form of the appropriate restraining order.

General restraining orders don’t include families or juveniles and is issued by the General District Court while family abuse restraining orders involve juveniles or family members and issued by Domestic Relations District Court.

Type of Restraining order:

The protective orders are of three kinds in Virginia, which can be used by for safety of the health of an alleged victim. A) Emergency Restraining order (EPO) which is issued for three days on the victims’ request with minor evidence. B) Preliminary Restraining Order (PPO) remains valid for 15 days after issuance or till a full hearing. C) Final Restraining order ends after two (2) years of issuance and issued by the judge on hearing and requires major evidence

Filing a Restraining order and filling the form

For general protective orders Form DC-383 and for family abuse protective orders Form DC-611 is filled. Name, address, and type of harm by the respondent is to be filled on the form. Telephone number and address of the petitioner is not mentioned on the form, rather remains saved with the court.

If you find yourself in any such situation, Contact the SRIS law group on the website or by the contact given at the end. We understand your position and will advise you step by step through choosing the right Restraining order and taking care of the legal paperwork for you from filling the form to choosing the right court and filing the procedures detail. We even take care of the deadlines for filing the court district. We the SRIS Law Group have 20 years of experience in The Virginia Law cases

Contact the SRIS Law group

Call us at 888-437-7747

Understanding Reckless Driving to Avoid Accidents

Understanding reckless driving can really help you avoid accidents as well as driving your car exceedingly fast. Most of the time, reckless driving is associated with aggression. An aggressive driver does have his or her association with road accidents. One of the major problems for most drivers is that they don’t pay attention to understanding reckless driving deeply. While understanding reckless driving, not only you can avoid getting speeding tickets, but also know where to be careful while accelerating down a highway. While knowing about certain limitations on the road. You can also focus on having just the right kind of driving behavior to safeguard everyone from getting injured from your driving.

Understanding reckless driving can also help you with being conscious about your safety and wellbeing. Most of all, it is important for teenagers to understand reckless driving so they can safeguard themselves from certain reckless driving behaviors such as:

  • Over-speeding on the highway
  • Not stopping near a school bus
  • Violations such as racing
  • Violations such as going in a opposite road direction
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol

These are just a few examples of reckless driving. The understanding of reckless driving can prove worthwhile for teenagers to exhibit safe driving conditions and avoid injuring or causing road accidents. It is also the job of law enforcement agencies, schools, colleges, institutions and welfare organizations to increase the understanding of reckless driving and about the dangerous consequences associated with it. Teenagers who engage in reckless driving are prone to exhibit risky behaviors. Most teenagers are thrilled adopting behaviors to prove themselves as dare devils or not being afraid of anything. They try to intimidate their friends and be socially accepted among their groups.

However, most teenagers end up getting involved in tragic accidents which claim their lives. With their better understanding of reckless driving, they can avoid certain conditions as well as dangerous driving habits.

Reckless Driving being Associated with Alcohol

Majority of accidents happen due to driving under the influence, smoking, or doing drugs. All such habits contribute to reckless driving and then result in unavoidable accidents. Moreover, these dangerous behavioral attributes are significantly experienced more by male drivers than females. They are likely to engage more in reckless driving than females. So with a better understanding of reckless driving, you can be sure of being able to control your speed under the right conditions and maintain a reasonable or proper speed at all times. With the understanding of reckless driving, you will also be able to consider:

  • Avoid getting into dangerous road or traffic conditions
  • The condition of the road to maintain a proper control of your car

Whether the road is flat, straight, steep or curvy, you would always be able to maintain a reasonably appropriate speed to safeguard everyone from your driving.

How can Maryland Sexual Abuse Lawyer defend your case

It is essential for a person to understand that Sexual abuse is a serious crime in Maryland. In Maryland sexual abuse is covered under 3rd subtitle of “Title 3”. The Maryland Criminal law code convicts majority of assaulters for attempting a felony, which results in harsh punishments such as life imprisonment. Even if you are convicted to a shorter imprisonment, it wouldn’t be easy to continue living a normal life with a record of sexual abuse and felony. It is practically impossible for a person to continue with their job, family life or in any child custody case, if they are charged for attempting a sexual abuse in Maryland. If you are falsely accused for any sex crime you should immediately contact Maryland Sexual Abuse Lawyer to get rid of the false charges.

Understanding Sexual Abuse

It is crucial to understand what acts are included in sexual abuse by the Maryland. With the recent increase of 75% in the sexual abuse cases in Maryland, the law enforcement authority have further constricted the punishments of sexual abuse. According to Maryland’s Criminal Law, sexual abuse is divided into four different levels. Sexual abuse, which is also known as sexual assault in other states, can take many forms other than penetration. Touching someone’s intimate parts unintentionally or a misunderstood friendly tap can even label you as a sex abuser. Sexual contact can include intentional contact over the clothes with the intimate parts of other individual without their consent. In such cases Maryland sexual abuse lawyer can help you prove your innocence in the court.

Punishments of Sexual Abuse in Maryland

There are 4 degree of sexual abuse in Maryland and each degree carries different punishments.

  1. First-degree Sexual Abuse: According to section 3 – 305 involving someone to perform sexual activity by force, threat or without their consent is considered as first-degree sexual abuse.
    1. Punishments: The person is charged with felony which can lead them to life
  2. Second Degree Sexual Abuse: According to section 3 – 306 involving someone to perform illegal sexual activity with a mentally or physically incapable person by forcing them, threatening them.
    1. Punishments: The person is charged with felony which would lead them to maximum 20 years of imprisonment.
  3. Third Degree Sexual Abuse: According to section 3 – 307 involving someone to perform illegal sexual activity in the following circumstances will lead them to third-degree sexual abuse:
    1. If the victim is small than 14 years old and the assaulter is 4 years old
    2. If the victim is 14 years old and the offender is 21 years old
  4. Punishments: The person is charged with felony which would lead them to maximum ten years of imprisonment.
  1. Fourth Degree Sexual Abuse: According to section 3 – 308 misusing the power of the authority to engage a minor in illegal sexual activity.
    1. Punishments: The person is charged with misdemeanor which would lead them to maximum one-year imprisonment and a fine of maximum $1000.

How can Maryland sexual abuse lawyer help you?

If you are facing any sex crime charges, it is best that you contact Maryland sexual abuse lawyer immediately. The experienced lawyers can prepare you to defend your case properly against the strict prosecutors of Maryland.

Guide to Federal sex offender laws

Who are Sex Offenders?

A sex offender is a person who has committed any major or minor sex crime. Sex crimes have multiple categories. Research is conducted by law enforcement bodies to categorize different types of sexual assaults on the basis of their harmful impact on the victims.

What is a Sexual Assault?

Sexual assault is an act of a person who has performed any sexual activity with an individual without their consent. Sexual assault can take many shapes however the most common form sexual assault includes Rape, Sexual abuse and touching sensually, without the consent of the victim.

Sex Offender Policy in the United States.

Throughout United States, Sex offender policies are designed by the federal government to manage the sex offenders before and after their Served punishment period.

The federal government has placed certain restrictions to manage the sex offenders. These restriction includes the

  1. limitation of residing next to school or public park area
  2. Any kind of Involuntary commitment
  3. Registering as a sex offender for public access

Federal sex offender laws

In the year 2006, three tiers were created by Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act (AWA) including:

  1. Tier 3:
    1. These sex offenders are subjected to more than one year of imprisonment in the following cases:
      1. Aggravated sexual abuse
      2. Sexual contact with a minor
    2. Tier 2:
      1. These sex offenders are subjected to one-year imprisonment in the following cases:
        1. Sexual assault against a minor including minor trafficking
        2. Solicitation of minor for prostitution
  • Producing, selling or distributing child pornography
  1. Tier 1:
    1. These sex offenders are not categorized in other two tiers

Role of the Federal Government

The Federal government needs to play an important role in managing the sex offenders throughout the United States. The federal government manages and imposes the federal laws related to sexual abuse. The federal government has formed regulations, which has encouraged the formation of sex offender registry in different states. These Sex offender registries are kept public so that people can access the record of registered sex offenders in the State.

Sex offender registration

The law enforcement have designed a critical way of managing the sex offenders by establishing sex offender registries. By establishing these registries, public, government and state authorities can track these offender even after they have served their punishment.

Registration and Limitation of Sex Offenders according to federal sex offender laws

According to the federal sex offender laws, each state should operate a sex offender registry for public use. Once the Sex offender has served his punishment, he is required to register himself with a local judge. There are certain information that the sex offenders has to submit for being registered as an offender:

  1. Name
  2. The Social Security number of the offender
  3. The current Address of the Offender
  4. Employee name and address (if applicable)
  5. Name of the school and address of the school ( If applicable)
  6. The License plate number of the vehicle
  7. A Physical Description of the sex offender
  8. A recent photograph

A copy of Valid driving license (If applicable)

Your Guide to Reckless Driving Arlington Virginia

What is Reckless Driving?

Reckless driving is a serious offense in the U.S., and is most commonly defined as driving an automotive vehicle showing no regard to all or some of the traffic rules; and misjudging the driving procedures, and ending up causing accidents or damages to life, limb or property of another person.

Your Guide to Reckless Driving Arlington Virginia

Virginia Reckless Driving Statute

As per the predefined reckless driving statute of Virginia, under the Regulation of Traffic Code:

An individual is guilty of reckless driving if he is driving a vehicle, on the highways

  1. i) at a speed higher than twenty miles per hour of the speeding limit allowed
  2. ii) is faster than 80 miles per hour, irrespective of the speeding limit allowed

Penalties for Reckless Driving Arlington Virginia

Virginia State implies strict traffic laws and regulations, and the punishment for not abiding by these laws is very strict too, as the Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 states, any individual who is found guilty of reckless driving in the court of law would be convicted of Class-1 demeanor. This is the same conviction that is usually given to the individuals who are found guilty of carrying drugs, especially marijuana, or those convicted with assaults.

The penalties that are charged along with a Class 1 misdemeanor may include a fine of up to $2500 and a jail term of at least a year. Furthermore, the driving privileges of the individual facing the charge may also be suspended for a period of up to six months. Similarly, six demerit points are indicated in the individual’s driving record.

An individual may further have to face more penalties if he is found with possession of a radar detector or a jammer installed in their vehicle. Furthermore, he may have to go to a driving improvement institute or even have to give up the driving license.

Mitigation Factors involved in Reckless Driving Cases

Even though the laws are strict in Virginia and are regulated seriously, there are still a lot of factors that might sway the judge into being lenient towards an offender and may let the offender go with simply a warning or small fines. This is possible with some special clauses called, the mitigation factors. These factors may include;

  • A good driving record may be able to sway the judge into letting you go with just a warning.
  • The speedometer may take a wrong reading, and it could be used as an evidence to evade a reckless driving ticket.
  • Radar calibration issues could also be challenged in the court of law to your help.
  • A legitimate emergency can help you get away with the reckless driving case.

Long-term Consequences of Reckless Driving in Virginia

Along with the penalties that an individual might suffer in his reckless driving case, there are several long-term consequences of reckless driving, especially if you are caught driving recklessly in Virginia.

These problems may include;

Insurance premiums

A reckless driving ticket increases the insurance premiums by a massive 21.8 percent, whereas a normal speeding ticket increases the premiums by 10.26 percent in general.

Security clearance problems

Although a single ticket does not weigh in much, multiple tickets may cause serious problems with your security clearance reviews.

Loss of job

If the nature of the job is to drive around, or if you work for a company that has a strict policy to terminate the employees with a ticket for reckless driving, or if you are applying for a job opening and the company finds about your history of reckless driving ticket you might face serious problems at your workplace.

DO’S AND DON’TS WHEN YOU ARE SUSPECTED OF POSSESSION OF CHILD PORNOGRAPHY VIRGINIA

Child pornography has taken its toll. It is an industry making revenues of millions. There is also an increase in the availability of material. Therefore, criminal justice officials are trying their best to stop the distribution and production of pornographic content including children. Those individuals who have possession of child pornography in Virginia face harsh consequences. Today, those individuals who are committing such crimes should be worried about the consequences if found guilty. However, there are several ways to prove your innocence.

Unfortunately, this has become a large problem in Virginia. Many businesses, companies, and websites have been needlessly exploiting children for their gain only. In addition, people who have been paying for this are ‘more often than not’ the viewers of child pornography. To handle this situation, law enforcement authorities have begun incorporating and implementing better technologies targeted to crack down on offenders.

When it comes to possession of child pornography in Virginia, many people are often wrongly accused. This only happens if those individuals have been using shared computers or if someone has access to their personal computers. People who want to avoid getting caught usually use public or someone else’s computers to possess or distribute such material. For instance, individuals working in companies have access to multiple computers to perform such heinous tasks without getting caught.

If you are suspected of possessing child pornography in Virginia, here are a few do’s and don’ts before taking the next step:

HIRE AN EXPERIENCED CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY

Why wait? The first thing you should be doing is to hire an experienced lawyer at the earliest. People often find the best reasons to not be hiring a lawyer right away. For instance, hiring a lawyer will make them look guilty and so on. However, once you are suspected of such a crime, the case will not go away until you hire an attorney. Do not think that you have nothing to hide so you do not need to hire a lawyer. Possession of child pornography in Virginia is a serious situation whether you are charged or not. The first thing to understand is that you have everything to lose here if you are wrongly accused. Hiring a lawyer might be expensive, but it will not cost you as much as it would if you lose in the end. Therefore, make a smart decision before proceeding in such situations.

AVOID SPEAKING TO POLICE AND OTHER AUTHORITIES BEFORE HIRING A LAWYER

One thing that you should not do is go to the police and talk to them without a lawyer. It goes without saying that people want to speak to police more if they are suspected or charged with this sexual crime. However, the drawback is that it gets quite difficult to raise a defense. Thus, hire a lawyer first and then go to speak to the police or any other authorities. However, consulting with your lawyer is critical before proceeding.

TRY NOT TO PANIC

Any individual would start to panic if they experience such a situation, but that does not solve anything. Therefore, it is recommended to not panic so that you can have more control over things and how to proceed with the accusations of possession of child pornography in Virginia. If you have already hired the lawyer, you are almost done with everything you can do at this point.

 

Understanding reckless driving

Time and again, reckless driving has been classified as a serious crime around the world. In Virginia reckless driving is considered as a criminal offense. Considered as a class 1 misdemeanor in Virgina, reckless driving can end you up with a permanent criminal record; if not dealt with correctly on time.

Wondering what qualifies as reckless driving in Virginia?

A number of risky driving activities can be considered as reckless driving in Virginia.  However, excessive speeding is perhaps one of the greatest factors contributing towards reckless driving, as a simple speeding ticket can easily be charged as reckless driving given the strict driving laws in Virginia.

In Virginia, in particular, exceeding the pre-defined speed limit of a zone by 20 mph or more can be charged as reckless driving. Therefore, speeding beyond 75 mph in a 55 mph zone will also be considered as a serious offense.

Virginia’s code talks about reckless driving:

In Virginia, reckless driving encompasses a diverse variety of offenses and the most shocking part for some drivers is that there are several driving behaviors which can put you under the radar for reckless driving.

There are 14 types of driving behaviors associated with reckless driving which are defined below:

  1. Code §46.2-862(i) & (ii): A driver can be convicted on the basis of reckless driving by going 20 mph over the defined speed limit of the zone or by driving over 80 mph.
  2. Code § 46.2-861: Driving at or below the determined speed can also be considered as reckless driving in the event that the road conditions are unsafe for that speed.
  3. Code § 46.2-852: Driving behavior on a public road that could affect “life, limb, or property” is considered as reckless driving.
  4. Code § 46.2-864: Driving behavior on private property open to the public and on public roads under construction that could affect “life, limb, or property” is considered as reckless driving.
  5. Code §46.2-859: Overtaking or passing a school bus that is flashing signs while it is stopped to unload or load passengers.
  6. Code § 46.2-853: Driving a vehicle that is not well-maintained, out of control or has faulty brakes.
  7. Code § 46.2-855: Obstruction of driver’s front or side view when driving with passengers.
  8. Code § 46.2-854: Overtaking/passing a car on a steep curve, the crest of a hill or when the view of the oncoming traffic is obstructed.
  9. Code §46.2-856: Driving shoulder-to-shoulder, or driving in the oncoming traffic lane on a highway with two or more lanes.
  10. Code § 46.2-857: When two vehicles that are traveling in the same lane and one of the vehicle passes the other without leaving the original lane.
  11. Code § 46.2-858: Passing a vehicle at a railroad crossing or when a pedestrian is crossing.
  12. Code § 46.2-860: Failure to give proper signal when turning, slowing down or stopping.
  13. Code § 46.2-863: Cutting off a vehicle on the highway while entering from a side road without a yield sign.
  14. Code § 46.2-865: Racing other vehicles on private property open to the public or public property.

 

DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN SPEEDING AND RECKLESS DRIVING

Driving is a common factor in our lives. Although speeding and reckless driving may appear similar in some instances, they are different in many ways. The major difference between the two is that being charged with reckless driving is much more serious offense than getting speeding tickets.

In Virginia, driving 1 miles/hour or more over the specified speed limit is termed speeding. This traffic infraction mostly comes with a maximum fine of $250 and the application of negative points as another penalty on your Virginia driving record as follows:

  • 3 points for exceeding the speed limit by 1 to 9 miles per hour
  • 4 points for exceeding the speed limit by 10 to 19 miles per hour
  • 6 points for exceeding the speed limit by 20 or more miles per hour

On the other hand, reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor carrying a maximum punishment of a $2500 as fine, 12 months of incarceration, and license suspension for up to six months. Besides these, six negative points are also applied to your Virginia driving record when being charged with reckless driving.

In the Commonwealth of Virginia, you are charged with reckless driving offense when you drive twenty miles/hour over the maximum speed limit, or driving over eighty miles/hour regardless of the maximum speed limit, or driving your vehicle in such a manner which endangers the limb, life or belonging for any individual (including the driver). Consequently, even when you were merely speeding, some of your speeding acts are defined as Reckless Driving.

You can also be charged with reckless driving in Virginia when you:

  • Pass an emergency vehicle with its lights on,
  • Pass a stopped school vehicle which is loading or unloading passengers,
  • Drive with faulty brakes,
  • Drive too fast to be harmless for life, lime or possession of a person (including the driver) in the available weather conditions, or
  • Drag racing

A catch-all is another category of reckless driving in Virginia which is referred to as ‘general reckless driving.’ This occurs when the officer simply shows that you were driving in a horrible manner which could endanger his or her life, limb or belonging.

As being convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, can put you behind bars and suspend your license besides fining you. The more serious your case’s circumstances and facts are, the more severely you will be penalized. Hence, failing to take reckless driving charges in Virginia seriously is a big mistake that could affect your life in many ways, like employment, insurance premium, and driving records for several years.

You need to know that license suspension in Virginia for conviction of reckless driving is not mandatory all the times. It is court’s responsibility to decide whether suspension of your license is appropriate or not upon taking into account the circumstances and facts of your case.

If you have been accused of reckless driving, you should have a well-versed lawyer who can understand your circumstances, provide you the personal representation you deserve, knows how to do well with your matter, and support your case the best way possible.

 

How Child Custody Can Affect the Will-Being of Your Child

Child Custody process is one which considers numerous factors to protect the child. This includes their safety, well-being, and education. In the United States, including the state of Virginia, sole custody is often awarded to only one parent when the other parent is found to be violent or simply ‘unfit’. This violent behavior of the parent might result in dire situations with severe consequences.

When determining whether custody should be shared, which parent should be awarded primary custody, how much each parent should have visitation rights, courts have to take into account a number of factors, prioritizing the child’s best interest.

How Child Custody Can Affect the Will-Being of Your Child

It has been discovered that abusers are often motivated to get child custody as they use their child as a means to control and intimidate the other parent after separation. This is because, the abuser begins to view the divorce as a battle, and use their child to be in control of the other parent. Children who grow up witnessing physical, emotional or psychological violence may demonstrate comparable levels of emotional and behavioral issues as the children who suffered direct physical or sexual abuse on themselves.

Here is a recent case study ruling in Pulaski, Virginia:

A mother was sentenced to seven years in prison this year on Monday, April 27. She was punished after she had left her five-month-old baby with his abusive father. Upon a severe fight between the parents, she had watched the father allegedly throwing the baby onto a bed. Instead of carrying the child with her, she then left the baby with the violent father. Thereby, the father was arrested following the child abuse the next day, and the investigation authorities came to know that the child was missing. It was later found that the father had buried the child, naked with dozens of bruises and injuries on his body. The father is now serving capital murder charges as he is responsible for the death of his child, while the mother was found to be responsible for abandoning her baby with the child susceptible to terrible violence.  The trial was set to start in early June this year. Although she had expressed her utter regrets and sincerely pleaded for court kindness and judge’s mercy, the mother was declared guilty of felony child neglect charges.

The courts in Virginia and across the US cannot understate the importance of keeping in mind ‘the best interests of the child’ when making decisions regarding child custody. Tragic events like the one described above can constantly remind you of the mantra during the decision making process.

The victims of domestic violence are usually depressed, often suffering from post-traumatic stress disorders. Hence, they fail to talk about their ordeal and emotions in the court. This combined with lack of appropriate legal counseling and emotional instability might lead them to lose the custody of the child to their abusive partner. Consequently, the courts are responsible to be more vigilant to make a decision that ensures the children’s best interests as well as victim’s safety and emotional health.

 

WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU ARE DENIED VISITATION

Parents who have been denied child custody by the court are usually granted generous visitation rights. In fact in most cases, the courts encourage and strongly support both parents’ involvement in child’s upbringing, even if they figure out that living in one consistent place would be in the best interest of the child. Consequently, if you recently lost an appeal for child custody in court, you must exercise your visitation rights to maintain a healthy relationship with your kid.

Typically, a court grants a non-custodial parent visitation rights with their child during the child custody hearing and issues a formal visitation schedule, revealing a detailed account of the parent’s visitation rights. Such visitation schedule may allow you rights to meet your child on:

  • Weekends or alternate weekends
  • One or more weeknights (weekly or fortnightly)
  • Holidays
  • Summer vacations

However, parents may also be denied visitation rights besides child custody in certain cases. Being denied visitation is a disheartening experience, whether by the courts or by your ex.

What to Do When Your Ex Denies Visitation

Some of the reasons why a custodial parent may deny other parent’s visitation with their child include:

  • Unpaid/outstanding child support
  • Inconvenience
  • Transportation issues
  • When the child does not want to participate
  • Out of fear or anger
  • Safety concerns
  • Concern over the other parent’s relationship choices

Since all of such reasons will not hold up in the courts, it is in your best interest to attempt settling the issue with your ex first before taking further action. Here are some options to consider when your ex-denies visitation:

  1. Document your concerns to support your child custody or visitation case
  2. Speak with your ex to know why he/she is not willing you to meet your child and what you can do about it
  3. Address anything flexible when your ex’s concerns are specific and flexible
  4. Clarify boundaries with new partners to rebuild trust with your ex
  5. Consider legal action when you have already been granted visitation
  6. Call the police to get a neutral review
  7. File a motion with the court when you are repeatedly denied visitation

What to Do When the Court Denies Visitation

Parents who have been denied visitation by the court orders may have the opportunity to regain their visitation rights later. In some cases, the judge may spell out an action which may require taking parenting classes, anger management work, alcohol or drug treatment, or other steps toward restoration.

Before you decide to do anything next, you must first understand why you are being denied child visitation and what you can do from here on out before you decide to do anything next. When the court believes visitation safety is an issue, the non-custodian parent may be denied visitation rights. Some of the common reasons for this regards may include:

  • The parent could pose physical or emotional harm to their children’s wellbeing
  • The parent has a history of drug or alcohol abuse
  • The parent has no longer contact with the child
  • The parent has not exercised their visitation rights in the past
  • The parent’s parental rights have been terminated

When the court denies visitation, the first thing you must do is to comply with the order through its all aspects properly. If the court orders you to take parent classes, then you must take them and submit a certificate of completion with the jurisdiction to show your compliance. You should also hire an attorney experienced in family law, if you do not have one already. Also, you must remember that although this set back is painful, it is changeable. As you work through these simple steps, you will find every reason to stay hopeful and be able to regain necessary visitation rights with your child.